1-2. Chromatische Fantasie und Fuge d-moll, BWV 903 – Bach
3. Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern, BuxWV 223 – Buxtehude 
4-5. Fantasie und Fuge a-moll, BWV 904 – Bach
6. Fuga in C, BuxWV 174 – Buxtehude
7. Fuge C-dur, BWV 952 – Bach
8. Praeludium in g, BuxWV 163 – Buxtehude
9-11. Aria: Rofilis, BuxWV 248 – Buxtehude
12. Fuge a-mollm BWV 959 –  Bach
13. Canzona in C, BuxWV 166 – Buxtehude
14-16. Präludium, Fuge und Allegro Es-dur, BWV 998 –  Bach
17-24. Courante Simple in a, BuxWV 245 – Buxtehude
25-30. Capriccio B-dur, BWV 992 – Bach



My newest Cd Dialogue highlights the interconnectedness of the two composers on this CD: Buxtehude’s influence is strongly present in Bach’s early compositions for keyboard and is very much the driving force behind my repertoire choices for this recording. By connecting the well-known with the less familiar pieces by these two composers, I aim for a musical dialogue over time without the use of any words, but through employing the sublime color palette available on the harpsichord, as well as rhetorical gesture, timing, and harmonic awareness.  Both composers are strong communicators, employing vibrant harmonic colors, chromaticism, melodic passagework, and remarkable virtuosity as a means of conveying their musical messages. Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) and Dietrich Buxtehude (1637-1707) – two masterful composers who have elevated the art of writing for the keyboard.

This repertoire is not only incredibly satisfying to play but needs the receptive ears of a captive audience. The hope is that listeners will enjoy exploring and listening to this amazing music as much as I enjoyed recording it.

1. Pavan – Peter Philips (1560 or 1561 – 1628)
2. Onder een linde groen – Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck (1562 – 1621)
3. More Palatino (Almande Gratie) – Sweelinck
4. Fantasia – Philips
5. Pavan Pagget – Philips
6. Galliard Pagget – Philips
7. Engelse Fortuin – Sweelinck
8. Pavana Philippi – Sweelinck
9. Pavana Lachrymae – Sweelinck
10. Passamezzo Pavan – Philips
11. Passamezzo Galliard– Philips
12. Est-ce Mars – Sweelinck
13. Mein junges Leben hat ein Eind – Sweelinck

Occasionally, one hears a recording that inspires the listener to sit down at the harpsichord and play this music. Kathryn Cok’s “Pavana” is such a CD. Ms. Cok seems to have an affinity for this late 16th- early 17th century keyboard music, and she makes a compelling and eloquent delivery showcasing the music of Sweelinck and Phillips…. her refreshing approach brings the featured variations, fantasias, popular tunes, and dances to life. … Cok’s playing is focused on what is musically important. Sensitive phrasing is a predominant feature, especially appreciated when coupled with her fine sense of timing.

‘Harpsichord & Fortepiano’, 2016

John Bull is one of those composers known more for certain salacious and possibly apocryphal details of his life than for his music…But he may have met his musical match in the American-Dutch harpsichordist Kathryn Cok, an adventurous soul who has recorded everything from Renaissance music to Stephen Foster. 2007

An aptly named collection, for Kathryn Cok really does make a jewel out of Bull’s piece of that name, and she is equally imaginative in picturing The King’s Hunt. She opens invitingly with Bull’s Goodnight, the virtuoso divisions of Walsingham and the embroidery of the In nomine are encompassed with flair, and Bonny Peg of Ramsey has proper wit. This is a very attractive collection indeed, and the recording of the harpsichord is remarkably clear and present.”


In addition to these recordings, Kathryn can be heard on over 20 CDs by the Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra, led by Ton Koopman

Close Menu
Translate »